Cruiser Electronic Problems

Dyscrasia

So, I 'm putting together a FT Cuiser, and it's my first attempt with a multi-motor electric. I'm up to the point of installing the ESC's and making sure the motors turn in the proper directions. I tried using a Spektrum DX7 transmitter with a Spektrum AR630 receiver. I bound the first ESC and the associated motor worked fine with the 2200 battery. Got it to spin the right way and was progressing nicely. I tried plugging the receiver into the second ESC, turned on the transmitter, watched the receiver light come on, glow steady and heard a lot of uninterpretable beeps. The second motor twitched and would not respond to the transmitter throttle. So what am I doing wrong. Is the AR630 with SAFE incompatible with this set up? I've never used SAFE, and I don't know what it will do with the FliteTest ESC.

I also tried using the servo tester on that ESC, using the 2200 battery and and setting it up like Josh Bixler did in the video... I made sure that the connections were correct and positive battery balance lead was connected to the positive on the servo tester, but all three lights lit up on the tester and I got no response from the motor. How have I screwed up? Any hints for advancing this dilemma?

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
...I tried plugging the receiver into the second ESC, turned on the transmitter, watched the receiver light come on, glow steady and heard a lot of uninterpretable beeps...
Where both ESC's hooked up at the same time? If so, make sure only one is supplying power. The red wire on one of them needs to be disconnected. Use a servo extension if you want to use the ESC in another plane. When both ate supplying power, they can fight each other, one calling for higher voltage & the other for lower voltage

Try hooking them up one at a time.
..I also tried using the servo tester on that ESC, using the 2200 battery and and setting it up like Josh Bixler did in the video...