Dlg choices

Pilot_35

I was looking to get into Dlg and saw the prices on some of them and was really surprised. I am new to Dlg which Dlg glider should I get? And is a 4 channel way better than a 3 channel? I was looking at the elf but saw it was only 3 channel and was wondering if that would effect how much you can grow with it. So I am looking for one under 200$ if it's a little more that is okay. And I am looking for one that I can grow a lot with and not have to buy another one for a long time.
Thanks

abieex

Mentor
I have an ELF that I purchased two years ago from Kennedy Composites. If you have not flown DLG before the ELF is a great place to start although its a little pricey once you have it all fitted out. 3 chan. is just fine and once you get the hang of it you can always upgrade to a crazy expensive carbon rocket! Check out RC Groups classifieds under sailplanes as theres always used stuff for sale. I still throw the ELF from time to time but not like I used to. Good luck PS- Send Crafty Dan a PM as hes really into DLG and could maybe offer up better advice.

bitogre

I have ordered a Epee which is a good low cost 1m DLG. I have yet to fly it but I think it is a good option to consider. I hope to be able to give you more information come the new year as I expect it to arrive any day now.

Redflier

Launch Mode
Looks pretty. Hope it flies well.

I have a UMX Whipit. Not the best dlg by any means, but small, portable, and fun!

bitogre

I have had a couple chances to fly my Epee and I love it.

Epee.jpg

It flies well and benefits from using ailerons to adjust camber. The V3 (which is the current version I just got) has a well designed nose that has a good amount of room for electronics.