E-Flite P-47, flight without crash!

Beavis

I've been flying since August 2017. After starting on a Sport Cub, I thought it was time to step it up a notch. I bought a 1.2m P-47 from HH, and promptly crashed it. 2nd time out after repair I also crashed it. At that point I decided to ground that plane until I got some skillz. Since then, Flite Test foamies have been built and destroyed in the name of fun and learning. Spitfire (rip), Simple Scout (rip), Simple Scout II, mini Scout, Sportster, Simple Scout modded into P-47's, and Mustang. Lately I've been enjoying the FT Mustang, and practicing up on some 3d stuff. Vertical hovers, knife edges, inverted, etc. This plane is so friendly. I think the Mustang is a better beginner 4 channel plane than the Simple Scout once you get it balanced out and trimmed

This last week was the first flight on the P-47 since October(?). I must say... this plane is balanced sooo nicely! It flies in every way like I thought it would now that I learned how to fly it. I never fly my FT planes on high rate servo, but this plane I had to. It was very forgiving, control rate was what I imagine to be scale, and it looked awesome.

2x2200 3s batteries later, it came down unscathed. I loved the low speed capability with flaps - my first flap experience.

It's not powerful enough to get silly vertical, but it has enough to do Immelmans and hammerheads. It just looked so cool doing low altitude fly-by's.

Finally.

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor
Congrats! It's a great feeling to overcome that learning curve and fly what you've built, isn't it?

Honestly, that's what I enjoy the most about this hobby these days. Flying is mostly just a way of proving that what I built works the way I intended :)

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
You know the rules... video or it never happened!!

Glad you are enjoying yourself Beavis. Maybe someday soon I will be able to get over that hump myself.

F106DeltaDart

Elite member