Electric Aircraft?

aadesh19

Hello, newbie here. I've flown glow aircraft most of my life, had to stop 7 years ago due to my wife's health issues. I'd like to start up again, but try electric this time. I kind of like the idea of not messing with fuel or having to clean the plane when done.
Reading about Electric flying is definitely a new and confusing world for me. I understand some of it, but all the electrical stuff is confusing. I guess my first question would be: how long can you fly using Lipo batts? Do you only get one flight out of a fully charged batt or do you get multiple flights?

Last edited:

Ketchup

4s mini mustang
Hello, newbie here. I've flown glow aircraft most of my life, had to stop 7 years ago due to my wife's health issues. I'd like to start up again, but try electric this time. I kind of like the idea of not messing with fuel or having to clean the plane when done.
Reading about Electric flying is definitely a new and confusing world for me. I understand some of it, but all the electrical stuff is confusing. I guess my first question would be: how long can you fly using Lipo batts? Do you only get one flight out of a fully charged batt or do you get multiple flights?
1. The flight time depends on the LiPo and your power system, it is like fuel and engines. A larger fuel tank and more fuel in it will give you more flight time, and a larger LiPo will give the same. Some of my planes only fly for 5 minutes while others can go to 9 or 10.
2. It depends on your definition of "flight". You can fly for a few minutes, land and unplug everything, and then power stuff back up and fly more if you want. It just depends on whether or not the lipo still has charge in it. It's like a normal battery. You can charge it and then use it up until you need to charge again, the amount of flights is only determined by how long you want to fly per flight and whether or not the battery has charge left over.