FPV and frequencies

Ludodg

Hallo iedereen, hello all

I am rather new to the hobby of RC flying. I build a couple of foamies and was able to get and keep it in the air but still lots to train and learn.
Recently I have build a tricopter but found it difficult to keep and fly it stable.
So I also build a quad with the bend-up arms and that proved easier to fly and train with.

I am also thinking about trying to fly fpv ... but wonder what gear I should choose. Also keeping in mind that local Belgian and or European laws might narrow the choose of frequencies down. I plan on flying overhere in Belgium but also when on vacation in France.

AT the moment I use a 2.4Ghz RX-TX-system (Orange), but I am considering switching to the Frsky Taranis-system.
I understood that when flying 2.4Ghz, an 2.4GHz-fpv system is not possible.

Can someone give me some FB on what gear, frequency I should choose for some simple fpg-gear?
As in which fpv-camera, antenna, transmitter
on the other side: receiver, antenna, ...

I do have a Gopro Hero 3, so I guess I could use this as the fpv-camera ... but would like to consider a smaller lighter camera, also because I don't think I would not need the GoPro-quality when simply flying fpv.

I allready went to a lot of forums, read a lot on the matter, also viewed some of the FT-shows on this subject .. but that is A LOT of info
+ maybe things might have changed in the mean while concerning laws, updated gear, ...
So anyone who can point my nose in easy direction??

thanks in advance.

Last edited:

ZoomNBoom