Going from Quads to Planes!

matau1003

Hi there everyone! I'm new to both the FT Forums as well as fixed wing flying! We have a lot of experience flying Quadcopters, both LOS and FPV, but my girlfriend and I are getting into fixed wing together and wondered what we should be expecting.

1. What are some of the major differences in flight between planes and quads?
2. Should we scrap everything we know about flying and learn again from scratch?
3. We both love the idea of the Strix Stratosurfer, because of the plastic fuselage, but should we be wary of this plane?

Thank you all so much!

French

Construire Voler S'écraser Répéter
The major difference is that you can’t fly backwards or hover ;)

Seriously though, welcome to fixed wings. The key to planes is to maintain enough forward momentum to create lift and avoid stalls. The best way to learn is getting out there and putting one in the air. You’ll want to start in a wide open space.

Ray K

Ray K
The major difference is that you can’t fly backwards or hover ;)

Seriously though, welcome to fixed wings. The key to planes is to maintain enough forward momentum to create lift and avoid stalls. The best way to learn is getting out there and putting one in the air. You’ll want to start in a wide open space.

LOL! French obviously forgot about the 3D planes. Those things have enough power to both hover and fly backwards. Heck, I've seen videos of Peter Sripol hover his big FT Guinea Pig. Other than a couple of toys I have here somewhere, I've never flown the quads. Strictly a fixed-wing pilot, but they are a ton of fun. I've got 5 of them right now, including the big Arcus motor glider I got a few weeks ago. I'd suggest you start with something slow and not too small until you get the hang of it. Won't take you long, but larger and slower gives you time to get your eyes adjusted and your fingers trained. Enjoy!!!