Lost plane

Wizzoe

Flew yesterday.... second time with this plane....wind cought it and away she went.
I'm a new pilot and this is not going to happen again... I'm shifting to drones. I want to start building my own. I have forty years of experience in the electrical service industry. I have quite the learning curve to enjoy.

Tench745

Master member
I built a little $100 ebay special 250 quad a few years back. It was a fun little project. I wasn't aiming for anything competitive or top-of-the-line, so it was a nice couple days of off and on parts assembly. No promise it won't still fly away on you though. Now if we're talking DJI type drones, that's another kettle of fish.

nevenelestate

No Agenda FPV
I highly suggest looking on YouTube for build series by Joshua Bardwell, Painless360 and I think that the AMA has a series they've been doing recently. Lots of good info out there.

ElectriSean

Eternal Student
Mentor
Welcome to your new addiction. Drones can be a ton of fun if you're into learning and then learning some more ;) Pro-tip: Install a beeper if you want to find crashed multirotors. They usually don't fly away, but they tend to bury themselves in whatever is handy.

LitterBug

Techno Nut
Tip from someone who knows... Drones crash too, and are easy to lose in tall grass and farm fields. I'm switching from multirotors to wings, because after a while, 2-3 minute flights become a nuisance and 30 minute flights are relaxing. There are pros and cons to both. Enjoy them both. :)

Cheers!
LitterBug

mrjdstewart

Legendary member
one of worst day flying ever was i flew a new drone, then let another guy who i knew had flown many drones in past fly it. bad idea. i stood and watched as it got farther and farther away, the whole time saying "stop! just hover, stop moving!"