Mini Dewoitine D.520 design/release thread

Grifflyer

WWII fanatic
Here it is, my latest design...a Dewoitine D.520. A fast and sporty plane that can be built in a day and fits in a car seat.

-Summary

-Speed
I'm not good with guessing speeds, so don't take my word on this but I'd say 50-60 maybe even 70 mph...

-Stalls
The ailerons get very mushy, but the actual stall isn't bad as it just falls straight down and you just have to gain speed to recover.

-Launching
Quite simple just launch at about 30 degrees and expect a little bit of torque roll.

-Landing
If you watched the video you'll see it comes in quite slow with a little bit of throttle and you just need to chop it right before you land.

-Feel
This is a very sporty, go fast kinda plane.

-Aerobatics

Loops, Rolls, stall turns etc. all the basic aerobatics, but I'd suggest staying away from inverted as it requires like 3/4 down stick to stay at a constant altitude.

-Skill level
I would want to make sure that you've flown multiple planes, don't get disoriented while flying and have flown at least 4-5 planes.

-Building

Built with one sheet of foam and all the basic FT fold styles this is a very quick and easy build.

-Gallery
a.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

d.jpg

-Plans
Dewoitine D.520 Plans

If you have any questions or built my plane, please post about it I'd be happy to answer your questions and see you results!

Last edited:

Grifflyer

WWII fanatic
Hi all in this thread I am going to make a mini dewoitine d.520 around the 26 inch wingspan it will be powered with a 2204 or 2205 motor and a 3s battery I have already gotten some work done with the wing, fuselage, and tail feathers.

a.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

d.jpg

Grifflyer

WWII fanatic
I finished the canopy and the front posterboard

a.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg