Motor stuttering help

Votey

Hi FT.

I'm new to R/C, electronics, all of this. I decided to build a Swappable FT Storch.

I ordered the following from Amazon:
Turnigy 2200mAh 3S 20C Lipo Pack
HOBBYMATE Rc Airplane Power Combo Motor and ESC 30A, Program Card Props Plugs ParkFlyer
Tenergy TB6-B Balance Charger for NiMH/NiCD/Li-PO/Li-Fe Battery Packs + Power Supply
GoolRC FS-i6 AFHDS 2A 2.4GHz 6CH Radio System Transmitter for RC Helicopter Glider with FS-iA6 Receiver
and other necessities.

I cut the parts out of Dollar Tree foam board, glued them together, servos and power system installed, Tx and Rx talking, motor spinning counter-clockwise. Everything looked ready to fly.

I stuck the prop on with the "prop saver" rubber band thing around the two little bolts and gave it some throttle. After about a second, the rubber band and prop came off. So I put them back on. They came off again. Now the motor just stutters when I give it throttle. Battery is showing 4.07-4.08 on all three cells.

I'm reading about burned out ESCs, damaged motors, "overpropped" motors... Not sure if I did any of that, or something else. I've ordered the following ESC and motor from HeadsUpHobby, trying to come close to the Flite Test "C" power pack specs:
D-193 Sky Power 30A ESC with Linear BEC
E-119 Emax BL2815/09 1000kv Outrunner Brushless Motor

Before those arrive, I wanted to get advice from you professionals about how to avoid repeating the same mistakes. I'm thinking I should get a different prop, something slower...

Snarls

Gravity Tester
Mentor