New Adams foam board?

richb2599

I buy my Adams foam board at my local Phoenix Dollar Tree stores. Lately I have found the foam board is different. The paper is whiter, smoother and the board is flatter. It looks and feels identical to the Ross foam board I got at Wal-Mart. The label still says Adams. As with the Ross board, it takes paint better but the knife cuts are not as clean as with the older product and also seems to be less ridged. Has anyone else seen this new Adams product in their stores?

flyinggreek

I'm new to using this foam and have noticed that there are different colors of white and the foam seems to be softer.

nerdnic

nerdnic.com
Mentor
Very interesting. I'll have to pick some new stuff up to have a look. I really hope that the board hasn't changed to be more like Ross. Adams is much more durable than Ross board.

richb2599

Very interesting. I'll have to pick some new stuff up to have a look. I really hope that the board hasn't changed to be more like Ross. Adams is much more durable than Ross board.

I agree. But that seems to be the case, at least with what I have purchased lately.

fliteadmin

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Might have to invest in a case of FT foam

Haha,not a bad idea Flyinggreek! ;)

Seriously though... we have had a few issues recently with the WHITE FOAM from Adams with warpage and other concerns... THE Water Resistant foam is GREAT and has not given us any issues, but the white version has been a little awkward as of late. We are in talks with them about having a better quality assurance with the white, but things in the business world always move slowly! ha

Have a blessed and merry christmas and may your days be filled with wonderful, non-warped, durable, white or Water-Resistant FOAM!! ;)

Stefan

na1pir

I bought a box of FT foam from graupner and are greatly disappointed with the product. Every single board in this box is heavily warped and as so useless for many models.

jpot1

Elite member