New Combat Type for FF2016?

Julez

WOT and going nowhere
Hey guys!

After the combats this year, I've been designing a combat- specific plane for FF2016.

I've made this design with the intention of having onboard munitions and ways of taking down other aircraft other than full- contact.

So I want to suggest a new combat class for FF2016; the FCOWAC- Full Contact and Onboard Weapons Aerial Combat. I think it would be cool to have combat where innovation plays a bigger role than just piloting skill. Onboard weapons might be nylon string to tangle an opponent's prop, droppable weapons to impede your opponent such as parachutes and streamers, and whatever else you might come up with.

Live- fire weapons like airsoft guns or firework missiles would be a no- no.

Would anybody be interested in this?

mrwhiskers

Ludicrous speed, GO!
sounds like a good idea, similar to the drone battles they did at maker faire. this time the builders and engineers could finally show their strongpoints. I'm all for this at ff2016

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
I don't see why any of these wouldn't be fair game in any regular combat -- kinda surprised no one has tried a Kevlar/spectra thread streamer to catch others airframes, attached to a release (nylon will probably get sliced by a sharp prop like butter, although Kevlar cuts almost as easily).

You'll still need pilot skill to maneuver the other planes into your trap, but innovation in airframe reinforcement and breakage is ever-present in all combats.

herk1

Trash Hauler emeritus
How about two planes launched at the same time, each towing one corner of a large fishnet...with fishing sinkers hanging from the bottom corners to hold it closer to vertical.

Gryf

Sounds very interesting, Herk! Add radio jammers to your list.