PID Tuning D value

Gatormurica

I have a DIY quad. I have been tuning my PID's. I have had to drop my d value to 2 for pitch and role so my motors dont get hot. However, 2 of my motors get nice and warm. I have vibrations comeing from 2 motors. These motors are cheap and have been beat up. I am also new to tuneing and eventho I have watched totoreals I still am uncertain about it. Should I get some better motors?

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
I would take a look at the motors themselves. Turn yoiur quad sideways and look at the bottom flat part of the bell. If your motors have a bottom plate watch the gap between the bell and the plate as you spin the motor by hand. if the shaft is bent you will see that gap open and close. If your motors do not have a bottom plate it is tricky but you can use any straight edge to compare to in order to see that movement.

If that gap is changing then you should probably replace the motor as it has a bent shaft. My recommendation when having to do a "Major" change like a motor, esc, or FC is to always upgrade from the original parts as it can only help in the long run. That way you are not dumping a ton of money all at once yet still get to fly while making your gear better.

Gatormurica

Yeah, I agree. These motors are definitely bent. I see what you are talking about. I would like to find a low kV motor that doesn't vibrate and is efficient on amperage. I would like to get some nice flight time but still be able to lift some weight. Are thee any motors that you recomend?

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
I like the Emax line of motors as well as Lumenier motors. They are both very durable as well as well designed and constructed motors. they are not super pricey so for mid range bang for the buck I like them. It took me over a year and a half of flying nearly every day to wear out the bearings in my original Stock KISS Alien build using the 2350 kv motors.