Post your Crash & Rebuild/Fix!

patkoz

Hey,

I've been lurkering on the site for a few months now and I wanted to post the Crash & Rebuild I had on my Flyzone DHC-2 Beaver.

Had a good flight, lost power on my remote, and lost the plane into some nasty wind. The video I have doens't show the crash and the plane went down on a hill and I lost the view.

The worst part was the firewall being ripped apart. I had my neighbour remake me new ones from really light and strong plastic. If anyone has a Flyzone DHC-2 Beaver with a broken firewall I'm more then happy to send you a new one. I have 4-5 extra ones.

The SUV picture has all the parts from the plane when I picked it up. The Fuselage was ripped a part.

Just used some glue and tooth picks to rebuild. Pretty happy on the cost of the rebuild. New Prop and Glue was all I spent. Saved me 90 bucks getting a new fuselage.

20150731_210737 Small.jpg
20150731_210722 Small.jpg
20150731_203144 Small.jpg
20150731_212154 Small.jpg
20150804_223748 Small.jpg

Last edited:

JohnC

Learning to Restore

What sort of glue did you use?

I just crashed my Radian Pro on it's third flight day. I was on a Slope and it went over the top just before a landing attempt and dropped into the reverse slope (which was a bowl with lower hill behind). I tried to recover with throttle up, killed the crow, and got confused and looped twice before it disappeared for the third and final time.

I'm writing a blog called 'Learning to Fly'. But I'll have to devote a few posts to 'Learning to do an excellent rebuild'.

Where is the nose.JPG

The Radian is a beautiful plane (out of the box) and I've recently had some experience with Scotch 77 spray adhesive as I built a Zagi HP. So I'm going to try to do a restoration, and get the Radian Pro back to as close as I can to brand new.

See below for my blog (it's on the Flite Test website).

Last edited:

patkoz

Hey,