Servo Arms

SykoSponge

I am just starting out in the hobby with my brother-in-law. We are both building a Tiny trainer on the weekends, but i wanted something much smaller to mess with. I decided to give a go at scaling down the FT Flyer to 60%. It turned out great so far had to make a few tweaks to fit electronics in, but i am happy.

My question is how do you determine which servo arm and servo hole to use for something there is no plan for? I don't want to guess and cut up a servo arm and realize it doesn't work. Or does it not matter as long at the arm is going the right way.

Thanks in advance

20171018_080457.jpg

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT
Nice question but the answer is much bigger than you might expect.

The servo output arm, pushrod, control horn and control surface are something that you need to consider as something serving a single purpose and there are many things to consider as much of the setup is dependent upon the setup of the other components.

Firstly you will need to know how much control surface deflection you are trying to achieve and the force required for the deflection.
Next to consider is the strength or the pushrod or rather its rigidity as well as its straightness and length.
What control horn clearances and size
Clearance or available room for the servo output arm to operate within.

The factors effecting the whole design or setup are the required control surface deflection, the travel range of the servo output arm and the rigidity of the pushrod. Consider the pushrod flexibility and its effect upon the whole setup. If it is very rigid the pushrod will flex very little of even not at all and so it can handle short but powerful movement ranges. If the pushrod is light and a little flexible then it would be preferable to use long and less powerful movement ranges so that the compression forces are lower and any flex will have less effect in varying the position of the control surface.