Workshop setup/renovation

Userofmuchtape&glue

Posted a thousand or more times
First off, I couldn't find a section for sheds/workspaces so I just stuck it here.

So I have got a largish, thee sided stone shed with a tin roof on it that I have been using for the last 3 years for my workshop. The walls have holes in them and the rocks are stuck together with lime and mud. the whole shed was probably built about 80 years ago, and has been used for storage since.

The shed is divided into 3 bays, the middle and largest being mine. to the left is one bay that dad did up, pointed up the walls and put crusher dust down as a floor. That's what I want to do to mine.
For the last 6 months I have been slowly moving stuff out and packing stuff up into boxes so I can renovate the shed, but it has been slow going with many stops and starts.
So what I am doing here is just documenting my progress but at the same time using it as a bit of a accountability log too!

The end goal is to have a shed to use for R/C stuff, wood work, engine work and a small office/desk area at the back.

So if you guys could start fresh with a clean shed, what would you put in it and how would you do it?

Abe

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor
I might be shooting for a little more than a shed here, but this is a combination of the things I did right, and the things I missed in my current workshop space.

• Power outlets about 48"-54" off the floor spaced 24" apart all the way around around the walls. Height to be above the clutter on a workbench, but below the kitchen style cabinets.
  • All the wall power outlets on a separate circuit for each wall.
  • Power outlets in the ceiling too about every 48".
  • Electrical panel near the door - use breakers for on/off switches for outlets when leaving. No more "oops I left a hot glue gun / soldering ircon plugged in for two days". Thank goodness I didn't burn my place down when I did that.