New here - looking for electronic projects

slick91

Hello FT, I am new here, I found the FT channel on youtube and watched many hours of it and also re-discovered Peter and Mr. Steele.

I purchased FT Explorer speed build kit and powerpack B. I am getting a Taranis x9d (open source is very appealing to me) and cant wait to get the rest of my parts in to get this thing up. Interested in building a 5in drone next

I am very interested in both analog and digital electronics as well as programming. I have been a licensed amateur radio operator for several years.

What are some good electronics projects? I can solder SMD and have a 100mhz 4 channel scope. I will probably build me a custom flight controller, osd, and maybe motor drivers.

ElectriSean

Eternal Student
Mentor
Start with building a quad from available technology, it's enough of a learning curve without designing the components :) Especially if you're new to flying. It will also give you something to compare with what you build. Not trying to knock your abilities or discourage you from trying, but current hardware and firmware flies really well, after being developed for years. Better to learn on something proven before starting from scratch :)

Flying Monkey fab

Elite member
I'm new to RC but have been in electronics for over 40 years. There are butt loads of directions you can head but generally, I am one to not want to reinvent the wheel unless there is a very good reason. Why solder up an OSD when there is probably a good one out there that you could simply reflash to get whatever thing it doesn't have that you want?
I am happy to just learn RC for now but if I get a hankering to dive into custom electronics I'd guess I'd start doing some custom servo controllers. These new transmitters do a heck of a lot more than they did 20 years ago but there are still places to explore. There is nothing easier to hack than PWM. It is even easier than RS232!

b-29er