FT Racer maiden flights

veshij

Hi!
I'm pretty new in the hobby and I just finished the FT racer build (with power pack C provided by FT).
I feel pretty confident flying trainer (sportsman s+), but had a huge difficulties flying racer - during maiden flights it spin and crashed 3 times during turns - and I'm not pretty sure what I was doing wrong.
That's the video of the third crash which was nearly fatal to the plane, but previous 2 flights ended the same way, but with a bit less damage:
I can't reproduce the same behavior in the RealFlight simulator, so I can't understand how and what to fix and a bit afraid that even after rebuilding it plane won't end the same way.
What do you guys think, what am I doing wrong?..

d8veh

Elite member
It looked like it was flying OK. The possibilities I can think of are firstly a brown-out, where the receiver loses power. That can happen when the ESC can't provide enough power for the receiver and all the servos. If you used one of the Flitetest provided ones, that's not likely. Secondly, battery disconnection, however that can happen. Thirdly, transmitter/receiver range. If you've used that gear on a previous plane, that's not so likely. Did you do a range test? Lastly, pilot error. It looked like that at first, but the lack of change as it went further down, says maybe not.