New guy charging questions

earthquake

OK so I am just getting started in electric flying and have never charged a a LI-PO battery before.
I bought a cheesy 25W charger just to see if I like electric flying, I did not want to big of a investment if its not something I want to get in too deep. I will buy some thing better later on if this some thing I want to get into.
The charger I bought just has two balance connectors for 2S and 3S batteries which is all I should need, it has 4 LED's that tell when the battery is charged, I was thinking about making a lead to plug into the XT30 power connector into my Fluke meter to monitor the overall voltage of the pack, does this sound like a good idea?
I have bought a couple of 3S and a 2S battery to use in my Tiny Trainer I built, they have what I believe are JST-XH balance connectors with leads that are too short as far as I am concerned so I am going to order some extensions off of Ebay [unless there some where cheaper] so I can put the battery in a bag while charging, I also need a LI-PO bag, where would be the best place too get one? can I just put the battery in a old ammo can to charge it? maybe drill some vent holes in case of explosion/fire.
Two of the batteries I bought had a plastic fitting that fit over the balance connector to act as a strain relief when unplugging it, where can I find more of them?
Thanks for any help

Casey

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
Really all you need is,a cinder block and a bag of play sand.

Hang your battery in the block holes and place the plastic bag of play sand over the hole.

If there is ever a problem fire / heat meltbthe bag, sand fills hole, fire goes out.

In all cases however never leave charging batteries unattended. Drama happens fast when things go wrong.

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member