Need opinions for electric aircraft project

wilson10

Hello, I am currently working on a capstone project for my bachelor's degree where I have been added to a team of aerospace engineering students tasked with designing a lightweight VTOL aircraft. The parameters of the project imply that fully electric or fuel powered helicopters will not be able to meet the demands, so a hybrid system in an unorthodox aircraft is essentially required.
Now that I've introduced the project, the thing I would like expertise on is a concept I saw on the Alpha Electro, made by Pipistrel LLC. This aircraft uses the propeller as a wind turbine when descending to charge the batteries.
I have very little experience with power generation in general but have been told that turbines are very tricky to work with and control, becoming dangerous and destabilized if not handled properly.
What kind of systems would need to be in place to control RPM without destroying the propeller or placing extra wear and tear on parts?
Thank you in advance
https://192-168-2-1.link/
http://tplinklogin.info/
https://192-168-1-128.link/

Last edited:

leaded50

Legendary member
wind turbines biggest problem is the bearings, if its "direct drive", or through gearbox.(eg. heat)
A propeller on a plane do rotate at given prm by motor power, and if should rotate without the power, just by windforces , i believe it will rotate slower...at least does by a electric RC plane. Adjustable pitch on prop to control RPM vs speed isnt unusual on prop planes..

Im not any aviation expert though, neither on wind turbines. This is my thoughts about what learned, or heard persons in such businesses says.
Why dont rather think about solarcells to charge in flight? It will be more easy to incorporate in a plane.

Last edited:

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
How big is your project - physical size target?