Dollar Tree Foam

Tarheel Dan

i'm new to building planes from foamboard, and very much like the idea. i've begun to cut out an FT Simple Cub.

the dollar tree foam is fragile. it dents and creases when you look at it sideways. not fun to work with. i'm accustomed to making architectural models out of much better material, but i understand it's much heavier. i want to make good looking models, but with readi-board i think i'll be tearing my hair out.

anybody have success with "quality" foamboard? modify designs, or add more power, etc?

thanks.

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
1) -> can you fly a plane well already and are just learning foam board building or are you building to also learn to fly?

I would stick with the dollar tree foamboard if your still learning to fly as, unless you have someone training you, your going to crash and being worried about a few minor marks on the surface isn't worth trying to redesign to account for heavier/different materials.

2) -> if you really want to get into high quality building, I would suggest balsa, hotwire cutting foam, and other techniques if the DTFB is giving you that much trouble.

3) -> I do find it odd that your having that much trouble with the DTFB, as long as I treat it correctly, I can be fairly rough with it and it comes out looking just fine. However I also don't get upset at small imperfections as I don't find it to be worth the trouble to be worried about them.

4) -> to your actual question, the flite test designs are based around a foamboard with a mass really close to DTFB, if you use something heavier, your going to have a hard time getting your CG correct (for example, your FT Simple Cub has way more foam behind the CG then in front... and some of it is far away), so if you put a big enough battery right in the nose to get your CG correct, your going to be much heavier the the design... and will have a much higher stall speed (so you will need to fly even faster).

Mr NCT

Site Moderator