3d Printed A10 Cartoon

bozman

A couple of years ago I built a Cartoon A10 from foam. It had a real basic wing with no real aerodynamics to it but some how it flew awesome after some adjustment.

I believe the plans came from here.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...=a10%20cartoon

This year I got a 3d printer and decided that I wanted to 3D print some planes. After doing some research and having a crack at a few I decided that I should design a plane from scratch. Please keep in mind that I have no cad or real design experience out side of the technical drawing I did in high school about 40 years ago.

I started with blender but soon found that I was constrained in so many way. At this point I started watching a series on youtube called "learn Fusion 360 or die trying". It really opened my eye up to what could be done within this product so for a period of time I straddled Fusion 360 and Blender for the design work (eventually I moved to Fusion 360 full time).

This is what I have designed and I have started printing it. Its basically the same dimensions as the foam one but I have given the wing a bit of an airfoil and have rounded the leading edges of surfaces within Fusion 360 in stead or filing foam post build.

I did start printing the parts but soon realized that I was going to run out of grey PLA. I order a new roll but accidently ordered PLA +. I know people that love PLA+ but I have had no end of trouble with it. Stringing has been a big issue even when I push the retraction settings right out so has under extrusion (turned off retraction and also bumped up the flow rate). Anyhow , lets get back on track.

I have most parts now and will soon start assembling.

You might notice that the printed tail looks different to the design. I have since reprinted this part as I somehow printed it as 240mm when it should be 360mm. I just need to design the engine mount and the elevator and the design will be fully complete.