A down spout glider design

simaviator

Hi all,

I designed this glider using the aluminium down spout as the fuselage. I like to post it here for your review and suggestion on how to improve on it.

The reason that I have chosen the aluminium down spout is because it gives me a lot of room for my battery and electronics so that if I would like to add a flight computer for autonomous flying or an additional Rasberry Pi for some AI target recognition then that is possible. The aluminium is also quite rugged and light so that if there is some accident on landing then it wouldn't break up.

The good news is that it flies but seems a bit under power in a windy day. Here is a video of its maiden flight

At the end I think it may be a little bit too heavy to be a glider (1377g) and its motor is a little bit too weak to be a plane (340W). So I would like to hear from flitetest members on how it could be improved upon. This is my first build so I would like to learn how to be a better builder.

The good thing is that it is very easy to build and you can find most of the building materials around the home.

Solar Seeker Glider Design
Solar Seeker is the name that my daughter gave to the plane. :)

The design goals for Solar seeker:
  1. Easy to build, easy to maintain, can withstand landing accident without breaking up
  2. Has a lot of room for electronics and battery to allow for computer control automated flying.

Some practical design guideline:

1. Wing area: A good aspect ratio for a wing is 5 to 1, that's span to chord.
  2. The balance point is 25% to 33% of wing chord from the leading edge.
  3. Fuselage is 75% of the wing span.
  4. Nose length is from back of prop to wing leading edge, should be 20% fuselage length.
  5. Tail length is from wing trailing edge to leading edge of horizontal stab, should be 40% of fuselage length.
  6. Horizontal Stab area is 22% of wing area.
  7. Horizontal Stab aspect ratio should be 3 to 1.