Advice for upgrading to a Second Radio

Lucidus

Hi,
I am really interested in the hobby since I found flitetest and I have outgrown my Spektrum DX4e that came with my RTF Glasair Sportsman from Hobbyzone. I’ve built the FT Viggen and mini Mustang and Corsair so far.

My question is what radio to upgrade to? I current have my DX4e transmitter and 3 recievers: AR610, AR400, Glasair HBZ7651. I’ve found that the DX4e is really capable of six channels if you use the on/off toggle and bind button with the AR610. Also, I was able to do elevons with my Viggen on this radio.

However, I don’t like the lack of expo, I hate the plastic trim levers, the lack of settings, and lack of model memory.

I’m a relative newbie, I’ve been flying occasionally for about 2 years in a field near my house. I also have the Phoenix RC simulator software to practice with. I don’t know of clubs that are nearby to my work or home, and I feel uncomfortable asking to try out the radios at the hobby shop if I don’t plan to buy it there (its far away and way overpriced compared to online).

My future plans are to keep building planes and to get into FPV onboard when I get the money (FPV is another big unknown right now).

I plan on building the Storch next (I ordered the speedbuild kit and the powerpack kit) and I would like to have flaps on it. I would also like to have thrust vectoring on my next plane after that (two motors on FT Guinea pig).

Spektrum has a lot of transmitters, and I don’t really know much about them, how old they are relative to each other, or which one to get. The few articles I've read about it seem outdated. I want something that’s not overly complex but still powerful and programmable (contradiction?). There are also other brands out there, and I’ve read people like the Taranis a lot.

Would really appreciate some help.

Thanks!

You could get a taranis plus