Aerial photography/video for a career?

So I'm still pretty new to the rc world but I have learned a lot already. I have been reserching sense early February 2015 and along my way learning about the planes and building one. I also learned of aerial photography/video. And I was instantly hooked. My first thought was "I HAVE TO LEARN TO DO THIS!" But I found out quickly that the FAA has a lot of rules and other regulations. So what I really want to know is how I could make aerial photography/ video into a career

Any advice is welcome. Thank you for taking time to read this.

RAM

Posted a thousand or more times
I was thinking about this and with the FAA out to stop it all the only suggestion I have is this:

1. Build a rig that can carry a camera with a high zoom capability. The new Nikon would be my choice. Why zoom? Because people do not like drones hovering right above them. Why people and not scenery? Because a helicopter crew with better equipment and deeper pockets than you or I probably has every shot of a mountain, beach, or sunset that will ever be needed.

2. Think photojournalism. If you can capture news worthy footage or images you can sell them and ally yourself with the local news organizations. The problem again is people. You can't just fly into a newsworthy scene with your drone. Too dangerous for the people under your drone. See 1. With a zoom capability you can film from a safe distance, away from fire crews, police, highways, whatever happens to be newsworthy.

3. You would have to figure out a way to see what your camera is pointing at and have some very good hover capability as well as full camera control. You're using your drone as a mobile camera platform, not a flying machine. No rules against helium balloons carrying cameras as far as I know.

If you just want to make Ken Burns documentaries then prepare yourself by getting a college degree and compete with tens of thousands of others who did the same thing.