all I want to do is take pictures

deadendacres

Hi, I'm new here, obviously. And Renew to rc. Dabbled a little 20 years ago.

I, my family, has recently bought land to build our dream home. And I've been clearing the land since the first of the year. But we'd like to be able to track the progress. Especially from above as it's a large tract (5acres, so not huge ) ,but the change of scenery would definitely be best shown from above.

I've got 0 flying experience, but can build and drive anything. Not always well but, I do get by.

I'm a mechanic and fabricator by trade, but in steel and the like.

All I'm looking to do is to take Ariel photos of our property without a huge investment. And learning to fly would be a hobby I could definitely get into.

So , the whole reason I'm here, where do I start?

Capt_Beavis

Posted a thousand or more times
for video I use the Horizon Hobby Delta Ray and a Mobius. The Mobius will do time lapse photography which may work for you purposes.

airhawk

Crashing Ace
cap is right if you want something cheap and easy to fly the delta ray is great but you said taking picture and cap correct me if im wrong but the mobius cant take pictures

Snarls

Gravity Tester
Mentor
I'm thinking if you want to go the multirotor root you could build a really cheap quad ~$200 using budget parts. Then you can strap a GoPro to the bottom facing down and fly the quad up to around the area you want and have the camera take pictures on time lapse mode.

One issue is that to fly a cheap quad you will need to learn how to fly a hobby grade quadcopter, and will have to face crashes. You may also need to get a Nano QX like Airhawk says so you can learn the basics. On the other hand if you shell out around $450 for one of the older model DJI phantoms you can easily fly it from day one and get your pictures. Note that I would still advise you learn how to properly fly and be responsible for a DJI Phantom, we don't want another incident :p

Capt_Beavis