Help! Am I going to regret my purchases of Night Timber X and Conscendo?

Flyingshark

Master member
The problem with pairing a receiver and transmitter from different companies is that to talk to each other they need to be speaking the same language/protocol. As @Ketchup said, for Spektrum, that protocol is DSM2 or DSMX, so any Spektrum receiver with enough channels will probably work.

Ketchup

4s mini mustang
To add to what @Flyingshark said, DSMX is the newer Spektrum protocol, and I usually prefer that. I have some experiences with DSM2 receivers losing signal in crowded airspace, but they are fine with only a few other people flying. Of course DSMX compatible transmitters will also work with DSM2 since it is backwards compatible, so you can use both. This is just something to watch out for if you ever decide to get receivers from other companies like orangeRX or lemonRX.

Douglas

Alas, I made my purchase of a Simple Cub before I read Ketchup's message, but let's hope everything goes well. I purchased the the AR620 receiver. The plane should arrive by Friday. I'm sure I'll be asking for more advice in a few days.

I may still head for an airfield on Saturday with my Timber X in hope of finding an experienced pilot who can help me along.

Flyingshark

Master member
Alas, I made my purchase of a Simple Cub before I read Ketchup's message, but let's hope everything goes well. I purchased the the AR620 receiver. The plane should arrive by Friday. I'm sure I'll be asking for more advice in a few days.

I may still head for an airfield on Saturday with my Timber X in hope of finding an experienced pilot who can help me along.
The AR620 uses DSMX, and so does the DX8 G2, so it sounds like you shouldn't have any problems with the transmitter/receiver combo. Good luck on the build!

LitterBug

Techno Nut