AS3X receivers

KevWell

Flite Test,

I recently bought the AR636 receiver and was curious if you have looked into settings for these new AS3X receivers for your foam builds?
I am somewhat new to RC airplane world and love the build concepts of foam board but there isn't much discussion around receivers or gyros. I'd be interested to see an episode on gyros, setting them up, maybe incorporate the AS3X receivers as well.

Thanks from a huge fan!
Kevin

FDS

Elite member
Gyro receivers have their place, especially if you fly a lot in wind. However they are much heavier and more expensive than a simple receiver. With most foamboard designs being designed to work light and teach you about flying different designs etc people here seem not to use the stabilised receivers much.
You need a good stable surface to mount them and they need setting up right to really work. I have one AS3X trainer that I used to get my start flying in October. Since I have had a straight up basic set up in my TT I barely fly the AS3X if there’s a choice. I learnt a lot more flying without any stability control but was careful not to fly on windier days.

Arcfyre

Elite member
When I got into RC and before I came across FT, I was also looking at gyro receivers. Like you, I bought an AR636. There was a huge learning curve for me, as at the time I was not a very experienced pilot. The biggest hurdle for me was learning how to program the AR636 unit. You need a laptop or a cell phone, and then you also need the appropriate proprietary Spektrum programming cable. If memory serves the cable alone was $20, and without it you are unable to turn on the gyro functions of the RX.