Best first EDF?

SSgt Duramax

Hi everyone. Something I have wanted to do for a while is dip my toe into EDF planes. I am a complete noob to EDFs, and as I have read around, they are quite different to fly as far as taking longer to get power spooled up, so you need to be intentional. I have rationed myself out of attempting to build one thus far by telling myself that they are inefficent, hard to handle, and for crazy folks.

I would prefer to scratchbuild, but I am not set on it. I see that there is the Viggen FT build as well. I don't care so much about looks as much as I do about it being forgiving of my inexperience with EDFS and to maximize time flying instead of repairing. I've seen a couple of straight wing
traineresque" looking EDFs across the interwebz and I found a few designs that looked like they may be worth considering, I was just wondering what you all though.

Maybe something like this with an airfoil instead of a flat wing?

http://www.rcplaneviews.com/index.php/scratch-built-foamies/93-fan-trainer

L Edge

Master member
How about a flat piece of foam made out of 6 cut parts, no landing gear, a cheap 64 mm EDF, and flies super slow. If this is not slow enough, I developed another one that goes slower(super stabile) that will let you fly up to 10 min in windy conditions. I used a stick stuck in the ground to get pilots attention on this design.

Here's the first video.

Slow enough for you?

quorneng

Master member
As I.Edge says you don't have to build a scale 'jet' to fly an EDF. It is only a thrust producing power plant after all. Yes it is a bit heavier and amp hungry for the same thrust as a prop so a light airframe with a generous wing area will handle the bigger battery and fly slower too.
Keep any ducting to the absolute minimum to allow the EDF to generate as much static or slow speed thrust as possible. Follow this sort of pattern and it should be easy to hand launch so no weight and drag from the undercarriage!