Best solder for RC builds?

str

Was wondering if anyone had a type of solder they think works particularly well in RC builds. I'm going to be building my first quad, and looking at solder, I see a few different options:
  • Lead based
  • Lead free
  • Rosin core (flux)

Beyond that, I see a lot of solder rolls including a ratio like '60/40' for their rosin core. What exactly does this mean, and what ratio would be good for a quad build?

While I'm a beginner at choosing solder, I'm not a beginner at soldering, and would prefer something that would be durable over something that would be easy to solder.

And flux -- I've watched a few videos where people swear by using a flux pen, but personally I have never used one. Are they really necessary?

Links to where I can purchase the solder you recommend would be helpful :)

kacknor

Build another!
All from memory, no google today, so forgive minor inaccuracies.

60/40 = 60% lead, 40% tin alloy. The tin component both smoothes out the melt, and lowers the temperature the lead will melt at. A good solder will liquify around 400 degree or so, lead alone needs about 700. MUCH Less tin will smooth it our, only needs 4 to 7%, but to get that melt temp down you need a lot.