Build Recommendation w/ Existing Electronics (Simple Cub?)

mazo_rc

Hello all, I just built the FT Explorer and am really enjoying it, but I am looking for something a bit smaller and easier to transport. I have the power pack b electronics, as well as two 3000 mAh Turnigy LiPo batteries (270g each), and I was wondering which plane you would recommend that I build next.

I am still a beginner in terms of flying, so I would ideally like a 3ch plane, but having the option to upgrade to 4ch would be ideal. I was looking at the Simple Cub because it uses power pack b, but I worry that my 3000 mAh battery would be too heavy. If anyone has experience with the Simple Cub, I would appreciate some input! Otherwise, if there's another plane that I should look into, let me know!

Thanks in advance for the help.

mrjdstewart

Legendary member
i think 3300 is gonna be rather big for most FT plans. i have flown the simple cub on a 1800 before but nothing larger. and with that, i had to remove the wing and place battery inside the pod. not the easiest setup but it will work. if i was you, i'd try and find a smaller battery. something in the 1000-1300 range will be perfect for the cub.

good luck,

me :cool:

mrjdstewart

Legendary member
:)
My simple cub build has come out so tail heavy I've ordered a Turnigy Nano-Tech 2650mah 3S for it. Should be fun :)
After all, I'd rather balance with battery than dead weight.

Caroline

ouch! it's that tail wheel... ;)

what is your weight of the craft without battery?

my latest with 4-channel, paint, and decals, comes in @ 480g w/o battery, which is above the 408 posted by FT (not sure i buy that number).

mine has a 2213-920, 10x4.5, 20A, 4 - 9g servos, 6 chan Rx, foam wheels, and can balance with a 3S-1000mah under the front pod.

have you tried putting a smaller battery as far forward as possible? my battery power wires have to be tucked to make sure the prop doesn't whack them.

2650 again seems rather larger.

laters,

CarolineTyler