Built and Promptly Crashed my first plane, Mini Arrow

AltxF4

Hi All!

I am a total Noob to RC flying bits, but after watching much on the FT channel I finally built my first ever RC plane. I Built a Mini Arrow scratch build per the tiled plans using the FPV nose.
Build consisted of:
- Emax MT2204 2300kV motor
- Emax 12A ESC SimonK
- Gemfan 5030 prop
- Turnigy Nano-Tech 850mAh 3s 25-40C
- TurnPro SG90 9g servos
- Lemon RX DSM2 6ch receiver
- Spektrum DX6i transmitter

I also had a small board camera in the nose that I left in when I tried flying LOS, so I had more nose weight as it took it to get my slight nose heavy bias (1.75" forward of firewall).

I had a hard time launching it, and the one time I did get it in the air it was twitchy. Trying to get it turned back it would snap roll and nose dive into the ground.

I don't know where I went wrong as I have 0 experience to go off of, and I have no local friends in the hobby.

Here are the settings I had on my Tx:

D/R & Expo
Aile 30% +12%
Elev 30% + 12%
Rudd 30% + 12%

Travel Adj
Thro 100% Aile 125% Elev 125% Rudd 125%

Mix1
Aile Aile Active
Rate L +125% R +125%
sw on Trim Active

Mix2
Elev Elev Active
Rate D +125% U +125%
sw on trim active

Wingtail Mix
Elevon

Before I build another, I would like some feedback on what I may have done wrong in my setup...or is this just chalked up to being a noob and trying to fly a wing before anything else.

crashed_arrow_sm.jpg

Mods: If I posted this in the wrong area, please move

localfiend

I like 3D printers...
Mentor
Before I build another, I would like some feedback on what I may have done wrong in my setup...or is this just chalked up to being a noob and trying to fly a wing before anything else.