Dealing with People?!

FieldRC

Hello, Everyone
How do you guys deal with passerby when you fly? Unfortunately, in my area there aren't large fields or private spaces I can fly in, so I'm forced to use the local soccer field. I'm a beginner so I don't have that good of control over my plane (Sport cub S, and soon a scratchbuild). I think if somebody's with their kids or walking a dog it might not be so safe.

I've resorted to showing up at 7am on weekends (the only time I can fly pretty much, I don't have time on weekdays) so it's not like I can get that much practice. I don't think I have the budget for a sim either. Any ideas on how to deal with this situation?

CappyAmeric

Elite member
I fly only at public parks or school yards. I often have people nearby.

First, I avoid flying over anyone. If someone wants to talk they will usually wait until I am not flying something, if not, and I see them out of the corner of my eye, I just say "please wait, I'll land and then answer your question."

Dogs are an issue. Especially since we UAS pilots are supposed to follow the rules, but many dog owners do not and even though our city has leash rules, there are ALWAYS people who come to the park and let their dogs run loose. I have no patience for that and stop flying if someone's loose dog is trying to chase my plane or quad.

Lastly, as for "safe" it really depends on how big and heavy your plane is. Most FT mini or UMX sized plans are fine around people, but to avoid conflict I don't fly over them even though I know it won't hurt anyone.

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!