defective charger ?

sundown57

Legendary member
ok in the last few months I have gone through 5 new lipo batteries . 4 were 850 MAH Tattu 3s and 1 2200Mah zippy 3 s. Being a newbie I kinda blamed it on my self . maybe ran it too low. didn't store it right, whatever. But now I've noticed a pattern. it seems on everyone it's always the center cell that fails. so my question now is could I have a faulty charger? I have 2 chargers, one is an Imax B3 the other is an Imax B6. but I'm sure I have put all 5 batteries on both chargers. so if one was defective could it damage the battery?

ElectriSean

Eternal Student
Mentor
Check the voltage of fully charged packs from both chargers with an independent meter. If they aren't very closely balanced at full charge, your charger is having problems. Having the center cell fail first is common as it is exposed to much less air and heats up more, especially if you are drawing too much current or discharging it too far.

The Hangar

Fly harder!
Mentor
I use the venom pro duo, and it shows me the voltage of the individual cells. Do your chargers show this? As far as running the batteries go, try to not run the voltage of each cell under 3.8 volts. That way your battery should last longer and plus, you wont have any dead stick landings, which are always a pain.

sundown57

Legendary member
Check the voltage of fully charged packs from both chargers with an independent meter. If they aren't very closely balanced at full charge, your charger is having problems. Having the center cell fail first is common as it is exposed to much less air and heats up more, especially if you are drawing too much current or discharging it too far.
I have checked them. 4.20, 3.80, 4.20. I also have the beeper that you put on the plane when flying and it shows the same. but i have it set to beep at 3.4. however, it has never gone off, mainly because I haven't learned to fly that long yet

sundown57

Legendary member