Discouraged noob gives up

M

MCNC

I am new to RC as well, built the simple scout and have been crashing and repairing for a month. Still no controlled flight, but continuing to have fun trying.

basslord1124

Master member
I would almost bet you accidentally put your prop on backwards if the Sparrow went in reverse. OR you had the original prop on backwards and the new prop on right. Something like that.

Crashing and learning is all part of it. Best thing to do is take a little bit time away to collect your thoughts and regain your focus. AND it never hurts anything too to just say "This wasn't the plane for me" and move on to something else.

dodgebob

Don't give up!! Put your head down and give it another go! Here's a few tips I've learned over 35 years of flying and watching others try to learn to fly.
First- Buy/build a TRAINER airplane. I know everybody wants a sexy Mustang/Pylon Racer/Badass plane, but you don't have the skills to fly it. Accept that and move on. Start with a simple Trainer plane and move up from there.
Second- Yes, buy a better radio than you need for your first plane. You will need it in the very near future. Things like Expo, Dual Rates, Elevons, etc. That $100 radio you buy for your first Trainer plane will quickly collect dust when you move on to other models. Expo will calm down the twitchiness of planes and allow you to fly smoother/easier.
Third- Every plane that you build has an expiration date. You will not know when that is, but it is going to crash. I've had planes last 10 years and hundreds of flights. ( My .40 sized Big Stick. Finally got destroyed in a Mid-Air collision with a buddy with his.40 sized stick. We laughed, high-fived and picked up the pieces. ) I've splattered planes on Maiden Flights right at the center of the runway in spectacular fashion. ( A beautiful Hellcat that I spent 6 months building. As I was making a low high-speed pass, the receiver glitched and gave full down elevator. )