Epic Adventure

BornToSoar

First of all, i'd like to say i'm new to the hobby of RC flying, and i've only had my plane for 6 days, built yesterday i had my very first crash ever, counting my first few days in the hobby. I had been having a nice flight with my super cub, and the battery was getting low and a breeze had come up. I lined up a landing approach to land on my gravel road, and i needed to fly over some low trees (maybe 20 feet high) and then flying in between two 40 foot spruces before gliding in from a good altitude to land. Then field i had been flying over ran parallel to the road, and opposite to the field were more trees, so that was not an option. So i descended to about 35 feet and slowed the engine. i cruised over the trees safely, and made my way in between the spruces, when suddenly a crosswind caught me and i went flying right into the very top of the taller of the trees. I shut off the engine and thought about what to do. It was stuck about 40 feet up, and strongly held in place. It didn't appear damaged and i had perfect control over it. out of desperation, i shut off the remote, grabbed my knife and climbed the tree. I'm only 12 and a good tree climber, so i safely reached the top. I carefully extracted the plane and found it to have no damage other than a few tiny nicks out the wing. With a wingspan of 42" and 40 feet up in a tree where the branches grow a foot apart, there was no way i was going to climb down a now violently swaying tree with a huge airplane. Suddenly, i got an idea. It wasn't brilliant, but it was i had. I managed to get the plane to the other side of tree, facing the field. i took out my knife and began cutting away any branches thin enough to cut or snap. after 5 minutes i had an opening in the canopy of the tree about 50 inches wide and 50 inches tall. the problem was that i had to keep it perfectly level and in a perfectly straight line until i flew clear of the branches (about 3 feet out at this height), and then pul