First Plane (Four options)

Paladin.oa

Okay all, I've been watching a lot of the build videos and am very interested in building my own foam board airplane.

When thinking about which plane I should start out with, I have four different criteria in mind:

1. I live next to the Columbia River and it would be a shame to not take advantage of that, so I'd want something that can use wheels or floats or a pure float plane that can perform belly landings and be hand launched.

2. I need to have four channels. I used a simulator at my local friendly hobby shop and found, due to my playing video games, that I crashed three channel airplanes but did not crash four channel airplanes.

3. I'm a noob.

4. I live in a windy area.

4. I want something that is aesthetically pleasing to me.

With that in mind I have narrowed down the field to three (perhaps four) options. These are in no particular order the Simple Cub, The Sea Duck, the Sea Otter, and if it's released before Christmas and gets some floats added then the Legacy.

So which of these is the better choice? Is there an option that I have not considered?

Ketchup

4s mini mustang
I would go for the cub because it is a plane that is actually built for beginners, and it is also probably easier to build than the other three. Also, you should practice flying at a local field until you get used to the plane, then you could try flying off the water. (I’m guessing that it would be fairly hard to retrieve the plane)

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
Any of these would a great first plane. Might be best to learn to fly on land before trying to land on water. If you dork a landing on land you can walk up to it. Dork a water landing and you’ll need a boat.

Have you seen this video

Last edited:

sprzout

Knower of useless information
Mentor
Ok, let me start by asking this: