First Plane

FinnR

Hi guys, I'm new to Rc planes and I was thinking of getting the rtf hobbyzone champ or the BNF E-flite ultra micro umx radian. Which one would you recommend for a complete newbie.
Thanks

longshot

Hey welcome! noob myself and started with the FT-flyer so I'll leave the recommendations to the experts.

LS

ofiesens2

Professional noob
I learned on the Champ, and it is great until you crash it. Repairs are relatively expensive (10 dollars for a replacement tail) and rather common.

I've heard that the Duet is a nice trainer; check out this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTXL_YXjHk0

If you can, go the FT swappable route. It is rediculously cheap to proceed once you get going, and a repair to a plane usually costs less than a buck. I went straight to the FT Flyer and Nutball after the Champ, and it was great. But be warned, it is a bit costly to get going along the scratch build route buying all the electronics and such, so a cheap RTF from Horizon might be the best way to go for a complete beginner.

FinnR

If I went for the speed build ft flyer what sort of transmitter, motor, servos etc do I need?

mikeporterinmd

Still Learning
I finally got my Flitetest Mighty Mini Tiny Trainer flying today. Had a blast. It really is quite tough. The first time I tried the other day, I augered straight into the ground under power from 20' or so. The fuselage is a bit loose and I ordered another kit. But, it flew fine today with a little extra tape.

It flies with power pack A. I have a Taranis X9D Plus which I invested in when I built a quadcopter. The receiver is a X8R, but that's because I had one. Normally, you would put in either a four channel or a 6 channel, depending on how you want to configure your ailerons (either one channel or two channels). The X8R is a great receiver - I got pretty far away, and not a peep out the low signal warning.