First transmitter for newbie under $200.

fclassron

I am new to the hobby and I am trying to decide on a first transmitter that I can grow with. I am interested in RC combat, FPV fixed wing and FPV quadcopter racing. Spektrum has the new DX6e coming out this month that seems to be feature filled. Are there better transmitters under $200 that I should be considering over this one. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks, Ron

Nerobro

A Severe Lack of Sense
This is coming from someone who drinks the spektrum kool aid. The DX6e should be great. I love my DX6i. I also have a JR 9608, and a DX18.

Spektrum is nice, because you can walk down to that hobby shop, and there will always be a bunch of bind and fly stuff you can buy an enjoy "right now".

If I were to recomend anything else, it would be to not be afraid of the used market. You can pick up a really nice radio cheaply if you go used. Don't fear radios with DSM2, as DSM2 is just a small change away from DSMx. As long as you're not flying in the world record event you'll be just fine. That means finding an older DX7, DX8, or whatever is still a good idea. I'd offer to sell you my JR radio, but it's not the easiest radio to deal with.. and I"m not going to wish that on a noob.

If you're going new... Buying a module based radio, or FRsky based would be the alternative plan. You'll need to wait for someone else to chime in about FrSky, as I've not had any good experiences with them.

The FliteTest crew drinks the Graunper Kool-Aid. As does my flying buddy. The Graunper receivers output PPM, And transmitter modules accept PPM. So making gruanper to "whatever" adapters isn't all that difficult. He has a module in a pelican box that he uses to fly spektrum birds. (So the Nano QX, Nano CPS, etc..)

Good luck! HOpefully someone better informed on the other radios will drop in.