Fixed-wing VTOL Tadem-wing

rekklesna

Hello,

I wanted some advice on a project I'm working on. I'm studying mechanical engineering and doing a senior capstone project in university. I am working on designing and building a VTOL fixed-wing drone for search and rescue applications. I'm restricting drone to fit within 0.5m x 0.5x so that the product is small enough to manuever through tight spaces. Additionally, I want to go with a quad motor set up so I don't need to worry about using the tilting mechanism for stability during hover. Because of this, I'm planning on doing a tandem-wing design where the motors are mounted on each wingtip and capable of tilting for forward flight and hovering. I have included some pictures of concept sketches.

I had some concerns about the design. Will there be any issues with having the tandem-wings on the same level? I'm wondering if I should include some vertical separation between the wings so that the airflow affected by the first wing is not going over the second wing, but I'm not certain how that will affect the hovering. I'm also not sure how I should deal with the CG. A tandem-wing aircraft needs a CG that is closer to the front so that the front wing stalls first, but a quadcopter needs a CG centered between the rotors. It seems difficult to balance both of these. Putting the CG forward will be really important for stability in forward flight, so I will probably do that, but I wonder how that will affect the hover control. If anyone has any advice on this configuration, that wold be much appreciated.

Attachments

• tw_vtol.PNG
    tw_vtol.PNG
    180.4 KB · Views: 0

Piotrsko

Master member