Flight Test Covering Question

TinmanJones

I'm just learning about Flight Test. I'd like to buy an airplane from the site, but am confused about covering the airplane. From looking at the pictures, it looks like all the builds come uncovered. If that's the case, how are you all covering the airplanes? Do you paint it once built? Use some sort of iron on covering? Or is there another way that I've never heard of? Thanks for any insight.

tamuct01

Most folks will paint them with foam-safe spray paint. There are other techniques using colored packing tape. I would stay away from iron-on covering as the heat required to set the covering will likely melt the foam. Some don't paint at all and just decorate with stickers and magic markers. It's really up to you, but I'd stay away from anything that requires heat and be cautious with paint as some will eat the foam. Test on a scrap piece first.

Piotrsko

Master member
And the brown kit foamboard is semi waterproof and slightly hot fuel proof, so no protection may be necessary. My FT Bronco was wet grass and lawn spinkeler proof. Anyone mention minwax for waterproofing?

tamuct01

I seal the edges of the water-resistant foamboard with thinned wood glue. It works well and doesn't add much weight.

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
...but am confused about covering the airplane...