FLite test IRC chat or similiar?

Bacon8tor

I think it would be nice to have an IRC channel or a chat room on the website. May offer quicker responses to ppl's simple questions. I know I would hang out in it all day, this community is awesome. I sometimes have questions that i dont feel are indepth enough for a forum post but have no other way to ask. with an IRC chat i could quickly post and possibly receive an answer quicker. Although this would take away from having some topics that ppl may find interesting or useful in the future. I know I still learn stuff from post a few years ago.

SpecialEd

I'm a web developer who has been using IRC since 1993. It amazes me that in the year 2015 there is no better open source alternative for group & private instant messaging/chat than IRC.

I also would love a Flite Test IRC option. Its possible to use an IRC bot to log the chat and post the logs online which can be used to answer people's questions.

An IRC server does not require much resources and can easily be installed alongside a webserver such as the Fedora Linux server hosting this forum. I personally run a private IRC network with ~15 clients hosted from a tiny VPS I lease as my reverse Nginx proxy caching server.

One of the best tutorial sites on the web for Linux tools is HowToForge, and they've published instructions on how to set up a full featured IRC Chat server on Fedora Linux: https://www.howtoforge.com/linux_irc_server_anope_services

For users to connect to IRC they'll need to use an IRC client such as mIRC (Windows), X-Chat (Windows, Linux), or LimeChat (OS X). Alternatively it is possible to install an IRC client on a webserver, my personal favorite for this is the open source CGI:IRC (written in PERL).