Flying Wing Design?

Wingman04

I am new in R/C and have been wanting to build my own flying wing design for a while. I have been doing research and some sources say that the wingtip can be angled up or down to help with lift or the trailing edge can be angled up. Is any of this needed? :confused: I want to use the same techniques that FliteTest uses because they seem to get awesome results! Any help would be awsome. :cool:

Hai-Lee

Old and Bold RC PILOT
Wing tip angle up or down, (spanwise), can provide roll stability or enhanced maneuverability.

The angling upwards of the trailing edge is used to supply a level of reflex which is used for pitch stability or balance.

I build many FB Flying wing designs, (mostly straight wing retro type designs), and so can inform you that the wing cord, reflex, weight, and balance are the things you should concentrate on!

Balance point is critical unless the wing cord is sufficiently long. The greater the cord the more gentle the control will be.

Love my wings!

Have fun!

Wingman04

I know all of these things help, as you said, but does FliteTest use any of these? I'm just looking for my first, simple design. Do I need any of these features to make it fly? Bending the wingtips sounds like it would take a little bit of work when using foam board. Also, if I were to mess with the trailing edge, how much angle should I put in? Thanks.

TEAJR66

Flite is good
Mentor
You don't need to bend the wings. The reflex, on these folded foam wings, comes from UP on the elevons. For example, the Versa wing, I believe has 6 degrees of up when the control surfaces are neutral.

Use one of the CG calculators. Here are two that have worked for me. http://fwcg.3dzone.dk/. http://wingcgcalc.bruder.com.br/en_US/?
if you nose in on the launch, and your CG is correct, you need more up reflex.

Once CG and reflex is figured out, yaw stability will be the next tweak. That will be a longer discussion.

Last edited:

Try-n-glide