Foam Board Repair... or Punt?

Inq

Elite member
I'm new to using foam-board in anything... much less an airplane. I've had the hinge area delaminate on both the rudder and the stabilizer. I thought I did Josh's smearing of hot-glue trick, but now, I'm not sure if I got every place. When you all make repairs, do you just glue this down or cut it off and replace it? Are there any other tricks to re-enforce this area?

PXL_20221215_211911003.jpg

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
that you can put a bit of glue in and repair, you should also then open the joint as far as possible, put a small amount of hot glue on the joint, then wipe it off, it leaves a very thing and flexible layer of glue that makes the joint quite a bit stronger.

I know Josh does that in at least some of the built videos, but I don't recall one for sure to show the technique.

Reactions: Inq

Foamforce

So far I’ve had good luck just sqeezing a lot of hot glue as far up under the delaminated paper as possible, then dragging a piece of foam or credit card along the back side to force as much glue back out as possible, and then cleaning up the inside of the hinge. Sometimes after I do that my hinge is too stiff because I wasn’t able too clean it out well enough, so I just reapply hot glue in the hinge, which melts the old glue, and then I re-wipe it. I haven’t had to replace a control surface yet. That said, I’ve only been doing this a few months, so YMMV.

Inq

Elite member
I know Josh does that in at least some of the built videos, but I don't recall one for sure to show the technique.

He did demonstrate that in the Storch build video that I followed. I'm guessing, I must have missed this rudder area.

That said, I’ve only been doing this a few months, so YMMV.

That make you an expert in my eyes. ;)

Thanks guys! I was hoping you all don't cut it all apart to replace this kind of damage.

AIRFORGE

Make It Fly!