Gimbal on RCExplorer style tricopter

Niall762

English weather sucks
Hi everyone,
First time posting to the forum!

I plan on building an RCExplorer style tricopter this summer, I have made a quadcopter already in school but now I'd love to make my own multirotor. I have a brushless gimbal (the aluminium cnc ebay ones designed to fit phantoms) and have been struggling to think of ways to mount it onto the frame. I have some 1.6mm glass fibre sheet I'm going to use and have access to a CNC router at school. One idea I had was for the wooden back boom to go all the way through the centre plate and for it to stick out the front, so I could bolt the gimbal to it.

For the arms to fold however I would need to move the left and right booms further apart, otherwise the wood boom passing through the middle would get in the way when they folded.

Has anyone else managed to mount a brushless gimbal on their tricopter? If so how?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Niall

ikem

you could modify the tray to be kinda like my fortis brushless gimbal tray.

DSC_2440.JPG

Cyberdactyl

Misfit Multirotor Monkey
I hang mine underneath.

I use four plates of 5/32" plywood. Not as heavy as that sounds. . .

The upper plate is about 1.5" wide and the length of the DW plate and attaches to the front two screws and two rear most screws with 3/8" holes drilled at all the locations of the other screws so as to not interfere.

I then stacked and wood glued two 1.5" x 1" plates to the bottom of the attached plate. This is to give the gimbals mounting screws clearance. I then glued a 2.25" x 2.25" plate to the bottom of the lower stacked plate. I then attached the gimbal to that. Then painted it all black.

The whole mount weights right at 30g. I can remove just the gimbal or both the mount and gimbal fairly quickly for low weight flying.

DSC00349.jpg

DSC00347.jpg

Niall762

English weather sucks