Guidance with first quad build

LeoAlexus

Hi all!

I'm totally new to custom RC, but have been following the FliteTest youtube for a little while.

I started flying one of these small hex's earlier this year mostly indoors, then moved onto flying this ready to fly quad, which I have had tons of fun with.

After seeing some of the 250 size quads I started doing some research. While I'd love to jump right into FPV, I totally cant afford to. Which I figured was a good reason to go slow and start from basics.

So to start with I'm just going to get the essentials, I'll probably even have a go at a DIY frame (as inspired by the toolbox) to keep costs down.

So here is my list so far, I've found I'm also limited by what I can buy here in the UK, as most sites are from overseas.

Emax Simonk Series 12A ESC
Sunnysky X2204S X2204 2300KV
Naze32 Flight controller
Battery and props seem less important at this stage...

The one thing I reaaaally need advice on is the transmitter/receiver. Lots of people post their builds but not their transmitters.
There are a couple that seem to be regarded as decent for beginners and also are available around here:
FlySky FS-TH9XB
or
Spektrum DX6i

Probably leaning towards the dx6i as it seems a newer model, what do you think?

Also the receiver for the actual quad I presume must be compatible with the type of transmitter. Are there any up or down sides to these? Other than number of channels?

Thanks for any help!

Last edited:

joshuabardwell

Mentor
Setting aside the technical merits of the receivers, one of the main things I would consider is cost. If you can buy a receiver for $20, you are going to be in a much different situation than if you can buy a receiver for $80. This is one main reason why I am not a fan of the Spektrum gear--the receivers are so expensive. I love being able to spend $20 and put a receiver in every one of my planes/quads, instead of having to swap one out all the time.