Harbor Freight P51 - Newbie

apbling

Hi all.

Recently picked up a harbor freight P51. I'm new to the hobby and excited to give the plane a try. I plan on just casually goofing around with this plan with my young kids.

From what I read, I definitely need a different prop, which I'll take care of today. However, through all the reading I noticed people doing lots of mods to make this plane better. I'm wanting to keep it budget friendly and easy. I plan on putting a larger NiMH battery in as well, but I'm wondering if there is motor that I could drop in the existing gearbox? I'd like to keep the stock ESC and gearbox if possible and just upgrade the battery and motor. Like I said, I'm a novice and am totally fine with just lazy flying around with my kids. Thanks!

OliverW

Legendary member
Hi all.

Recently picked up a harbor freight P51. I'm new to the hobby and excited to give the plane a try. I plan on just casually goofing around with this plan with my young kids.

From what I read, I definitely need a different prop, which I'll take care of today. However, through all the reading I noticed people doing lots of mods to make this plane better. I'm wanting to keep it budget friendly and easy. I plan on putting a larger NiMH battery in as well, but I'm wondering if there is motor that I could drop in the existing gearbox? I'd like to keep the stock ESC and gearbox if possible and just upgrade the battery and motor. Like I said, I'm a novice and am totally fine with just lazy flying around with my kids. Thanks!
I would put a park 370 in it with a 25amp esc on a 9" prop. The stock setup is not if quality

Captain Video