Help needed

Clement

Hello guys. Please I need help as I am new to building RC planes.
1. What does the mm in electric ducted fans stand for?
2. I would like to build a twin engine airliner using 2 small ducted fans.
3. What electric components do i need to purchase and what website can i purchase them online?
4. I can think of the following
a. 2 electric ducted fans
b.Battery
c.Transmitter
d.receiver

5. Please what did I forget to include in the list
6.How do i ensure that the power and voltage rating of the ducted fans, battery, transmitter and receiver are all compatible with each other

I will really appreciate if answers are provided to my questions. Pleeeeeaaaase help me. I need to get airborne

Thanks so much guys

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
1. What does the mm in electric ducted fans stand for?

Millimeters
5. Please what did I forget to include in the list
You'll 2 ECS's (Electronic Speed Controllers) to drive the EDF's. Some servos and possible some extension wires.

6.How do i ensure that the power and voltage rating of the ducted fans, battery, transmitter and receiver are all compatible with each other

Start with the motor, how many amps will it draw, make sure the ESC is rated a bit more than the motor is asking for. Then make sure the battery can supply the needs of both ESC's.

Use the same brand of Tx & Rx.

It would be a good idea to start with something slower than an EDF, they tend to go pretty fast. Start with a trainer plane save the EDF for later.

Last edited:

mrjdstewart

Legendary member
be cautious, EDF's are not the most powerful things out there. they are expensive, draw lots of amps, and don't provide a lot of thrust vs. size. you have to be very careful from the beginning with the size and weight of your design.

good luck,

me :cool:

Clement

Millimeters
You'll 2 ECS's (Electronic Speed Controllers) to drive the EDF's. Some servos and possible some extension wires.