Hi from Timmers

Timmers

Hey I'm new to the forums!

I'm new to the RC aircraft hobby but I'd like get more active in the community. I'd like to start a local group for Quadcopters in Spokane, Washington. Maybe I could get a few tips?

I've made a blog post documenting my most recent build of a quadcopter,
and few lessons I've learned. Have a look and let me know what you think.

Here is a picture of my quad:

Quad%u00252Blvl1%2BRIP.jpg

I look forward to being a member of this forum!:p

RCman50

family, faith, foam, fun!
Welcome timmers. You couldn't of picked a better forum. Nobody will look down at you for asking even the simplest of ?'s. I had that issue on another forum as a noob and felt really stupid, kinda turned me off from posting, Not here, it's a very knowledgeable and warm community. If you ever need help post it and you'll get your answer or at least help on where to find that answer. I've only been at this for a little over a year now after a long hiatus from the hobby. Again, welcome and happy New Year

Timmers

Thanks for comments! I'll make sure to remember to ask all my questions.

Here is a question for you: In light of my last crash I've looked for different ways to track down a crashed or lost multirotor. What are some of the things that you do or have seen done? For example I've seen buzzers, and blue tooth trackers that have a short range but are cheap, then you have the gps trackers that usually are more expensive and have a monthly payment, I've even thought about using ham radio to send APRS. My only preference is that it needs to be cheap and it needs to work.

Thanks, and Happy New Year!

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor
Welcome to FliteTest, Timmers!

I recommend a multi-stage safety net on your multi-rotors.