Hi I'm new to the hobby can I get a little help?

kaznut

I'm new to the hobby I fly planes and multi-rotors. I'm getting a Parkzone Icon A5 to start with. I watched the review on the A5 and think its great for me because I live on a island. The A5 is easily accessible and is a amphibious plane. Can I get advice on how I can start with it?

xuzme720

Dedicated foam bender
Mentor
You should at least try to hand launch/belly land for a flight or two to make sure you have the flight characteristics down before you fly off the water. I'm not sure what else I can tell you except have fun!

RoyBro

Mentor
Hi kaznut,

You say that you are new to the hobby, and that you DO fly planes and multi-rotors or WANT to fly planes and multi-rotors?

Do you have your transmitter / receiver or are you looking for those as well? I noticed that the Icon A5 comes in a standard approx 50" wingspan and ultra-micro size approx 24" wingspan. Both are available only as Bind 'n' Fly so you will need a DSM2/DSMX transmitter. Which are you looking to buy?

xuzme720

Dedicated foam bender
Mentor
Wait, is the Icon going to be your first plane? I assumed since you said you fly both fixed wing and multi rotors, that you had some flight experience. Can you give us some more detail on your experience and equipment? Like Roy said, having the right stuff is important. And for us to be able to help, we need to know where you are at as far as experience and equipment.

kaznut

I do fly planes and helicopters but I have only piloted the toy grade models. I want to fly multi-rotors I have a transmitter picked out, its the DX6 transmitter, and I am getting the ultra-micro Icon A5. Hopefully im getting the Proto-X, it will be my first quad-rotor. The Proto-X is a BNF and flies like a bee it's quite fast and should be good for first time flyers.

RoyBro

Mentor