Help! Hi! Newbie FPV Question

odie0817

Hey all, newbie here! Kinda niche question here. Looking for FPV TX and RX recommendations specifically for the 1.3GHz range. What I have going on is looking to mount a battery operated camera to an over head crane's skyhook. In our steel annealing lines, cylindrical casks have to be lifted off columns of material that are ~50' high once the process is completed. The overhead cranes in this area do not have cabs and are operated from the ground by remote. Operators currently do this by "feel" or if needed call in a scissor lift so they can be hoisted up to see what they are hooked to. Scissor lifts presents issues with our H&S team, time to get a lift, etc. Was thinking a little FPV setup would be perfect to help the operators out and would be simple enough they would ACTUALLY use it, just fashion up some magnetic mounting system and boom down to place the camera on the hook before a lift.

The reason for the frequency requirement is we have infrastructure Wi-Fi flooding this area on all channels in the 2.4 and 5GHz range. We would be stepping on channels that remote sensors are transmitting production system data, I cannot do that. Any other thoughs or suggestions?

mastermalpass

Elite member
I used to work for a data company that mainly sold H&S data systems to construction companies. Once when configuring a report for 'blue' scores (where green was good, blue meant very good), I noticed someone had gotten a blue score for sticking live cameras on the arms on an excavator. So pull this off and you're in for a handshake from the H&S manager!

I wasn't expecting 1.3ghz transmitters to be so elusive. The first five results were all 5 gig. Found this cheap little module though.

Next you'll need an antenna. You're not flying and looping around, so this basic lollipop one should do the trick.

Important note for newbies: DO NOT power on a Video transmitter without an antenna attached: you'll fry the circuits!